Ain’t Nothin’ Goin’ On But The Rent

After avoiding it for a long as possible, I finally ran out of everything (food, laundry detergent, shampoo, toothpaste…) and unfortunately had to take a trip to the grocery store to stock up, and as you can imagine, what started off as a simple shopping trip quickly turned into eternal damnation in hell, and now I’m so pissed off that I actually have to write a blog about it.

I HATE getting ripped off, something of which just seems inevitable these days. As Eddie Griffin would say, you go anywhere “and you got someone stickin’ a dick in you and asking for money”. Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past couple years like I’ve been trying to do, you know that everything is incredibly expensive and that you’re not getting nearly half as much as you used to get. Bag of chips? More like bag of air that someone was nice enough to sprinkle some crumbs in. Hell, even Ramen is now a whopping 98¢ (which okay, fine, isn’t THAT much, but when you consider that it used to be like, 25¢ and you’d actually get a majority of the container, yeah, it fucking sucks). Everything else is the same way. You get half the container for double the price. And not to mention that MILK IS ALMOST FOUR DOLLARS A GALLON!!!!!! Talk about getting swindled.

I also had to buy a birthday card for one of Jake’s friends, and that just put me in a tizzy. Have you tried to buy a child’s birthday card lately?? Goddamn, it’s almost fucking impossible. First off, I’m not buying an eight dollar card. IT’S A CARD. You know what people do with cards? They open them, check for money, and then throw them in the trash. I might as well just save everyone the hassle and burn the eight bucks instead! Second of all, this is not some kind of prolific life experience that needs to be accompanied by a musical number or any other type of sound effect, especially when that noise is somehow constituted as being worth $12. Twelve dollars is four gallons of gas in my tank, you stupid fucks! Knock that shit off! Not to mention the fucking fifteen panel monstrosities aka story books being advertised as cards. What the fuck is this shit??
20130215-213606.jpg
This isn’t a card, it’s a fucking novel!
I even saw cards with keychains and wristbands attached to them. I can't even find words to describe how stupid that is! IT'S A CARD. IT'S A CARD. IT'S A CARD. Why are we making ten page cards that play music and come with goodie bags?? Jeez, with all these new features, it kind of is becoming a life experience! I can't wait for when my cards are able to turn themselves into a house or something useful.

Then I had to of course come home and pay outrageous bills, nearly $200 for TV and of course the $1000 cell phone bill! I swear to god everything goes up in price every single month except for my paychecks. Why am I paying $150 for water?? $250 for electric?? $500 for car insurance??? And people want me to work for $8.50 an hour??? Is everyone high on crack??

Which reminds me, while I'm at it I might as well just rant about this too: I DO NOT WORK FOR FREE. Everyday I get emails from people asking if I'll help plan their wedding/event for free and donate all my services to them because "they're good people". Um, no?? I don't even want to plan shit for people who do pay me, and I really don't care if you're a good person or not. I'm a good person and no one gives me diddley fuckin' squat. Sing for your supper.

Why should I donate my time and skills to anyone? Is the electric company going to donate electricity to me? Is Wal-Mart going to donate groceries?? You think I just got certified and licensed for free?? That running a business is free?? That my overhead is just non-existent and that I don't have to pay for anything at all??? In a perfect world! I'm lucky if I break even when it's all said and done. Any money that I actually make keeps a roof over my head and food on the table. So fuck you and your charity cases. The day my rent is free is the day I'll donate my services.

Ugh!!! I hate spending money!!!!

§Rainbows & Skeletons§

**Picture from here.

Leave a Reply

